Vanilla cupcakes

It took me a while to get used to vegan baking but I finally got the hang of it. I had to leave behind the recipes my mother had taught me and relearn a new way of making cakes. They turned out to be just as nice, and passed the ‘Mum’ test, so I was happy! I can still use the old way of icing cupcakes, or ‘fairy cakes’ as we used to call them. I think it’s the best way to eat a cupcake because you get two types of icing in one go! Here is the buttercream and glaze recipe.

vanillaresize

Makes 10-12 cupcakes
Cupcake ingredients
250 ml soy milk
1 tsp apple cider vinegar
115 g margarine (I like Vitalite)
180 g castor sugar
215 g plain flour
14 g cornflour
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
1/4 salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp almond extract

Cake method
Preheat the oven to 190 or 170 fan assisted.
Mix the milk and apple cider vinegar, and set aside to curdle.
Cream the margarine and sugar for a few minutes.
Sieve the flour, cornflour, salt, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda a few times, I do it at least 5-6.
Add the vanilla and almond extract to the milk and mix well.
Combine the flour mix and milk mix into the margarine and sugar, alternating, and making sure there are no lumps.
Distribute evenly into the cupcake cases, making a small well in the middle of the batter to ensure the middle doesn’t rise too much.
Bake for 17 minutes.
When they’re cool enough, put them in the fridge as they are easier to ice when cold.

.

Leave a comment